Clay Aiken – Las Vegas Show

“The 2011 Billboard Music Awards” show aired live Sunday, May 22nd on the ABC Television Network. The awards show took place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. Billboard partnered with Chevrolet and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority to produce the show. This was the first year that ABC broadcast the event and marks the first Billboard Music Awards show since 2007.

The BMAs have been held annually since 1990, and like the AMAs, this awards show honors winners based on popularity—in this case, based on Billboard’s year-end music charts, with awards for top selling album/artist/single in a particular genre.

Eminem and Justin Bieber dominated this year’s Billboard Music Awards. They tied for the most awards garnered, taking home 6 each.

Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Usher, Taylor Swift, Mumford & Sons and Taio Cruz each earned 3 Billboard Music Awards. Katy Perry, Shakira, Chris Tomlin and Train were each allocated 2 Billboard Music Awards. Bruno Mars, Lady Antebellum, Black Eyed Peas, Enrique Iglesias, Ludacris, Nelly, Neon Trees, Skillet, U2, Will.I.Am and Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina each received 1 Billboard Music Award.

I do have to admit.  I did not watch the show.  Although I am a musician and a huge fan of many musical styles, the Billboard Awards Show is not on my list of favorite TV shows.  However, the show is important to the professionals who are a part of the music industry.

I would rather look back to the 2003 Billboard Awards. The show was held on December 10th and was hosted by Ryan Seacrest. Clay Aiken helped deliver the introduction that launched the show.  He performed Invisible and accepted the Award for the Top Selling Single of 2003.  I watched the show that year although I was not a fan of the crude jokes and remarks that peppered the show.

Do you watch the Billboard Awards?  Did you watch it in 2003?

Clay Aiken News Network is an unofficial fansite. We are not affiliated in any way with Clay Aiken or his management. This website was made by fans for fans and makes no impression or impersonation of the official site, which can be found under the domain